Rescue groups? Really?

As much as I hate to rag on these people I’m having a lot of serious doubts about the motivation of many of the people that I have encountered in animal rescue groups and recently I was made aware of something that reinforces my view that most often, it’s about the people, not the animals.

It seems that many of these “rescue” groups cherry pick city shelters to get “adoptable” animals (mostly dogs) and try to find homes for them. While this sounds noble on its face, it does little to solve the problem at hand and that’s pet overpopulation and, therein lies the rub. I have yet to talk to anyone of these folks who show any interest in taking action to get spay and neuter laws enforced and these rescue groups, more than any other group, have the power and resources to get cities to move off their asses and deal with it. They have the animals and the volunteers to make something happen but they (in my experience) have shown no interest. Usually their my response to my query is, “You should contact XYZ Network, we don’t do that”.

Here’s what I’ve proposed to three rescue groups which relates directly to the power and resources that I mentioned. If they would band together with as many groups and volunteers (the numbers would be substantial) as they could muster, each with as many animals as they could safely manage (I can bring four, all former dumpees) and show up in front of say, Dallas City Hall ahead of a council meeting with the media in attendance. By showing the politicians and the citizenry what an even bigger problem they would have if these rescue groups weren’t taking some of the pressure off city shelters, they would make something happen. The response I got from them was pretty much, deer in the headlights.

So, even though what they do is worthy, it’s simply not enough. Seems to me that if the animals truly mattered to them, they’d want to put themselves out of a job. Unfortunately, I don’t see any of that.

I live in the country where dogs are dumped all of the time, including two which are now mine, and I want this to stop. Indeed, what prompted me to write this was finding a mother and her pup dumped at an abandoned gravel pit down the road. A friend and I tried to take them to the local SPCA and were told they were full. All area shelters are full. My friend offered to pay their fee and was told she could but they would have to euthanize two other dogs to make room for them. She adopted the mother and the pup is here with me and on Facebook while I try to find him a home. The one time I found a dog and worked through a rescue group, they threatened to take me to court because I found him a home, even though his new owner contacted them immediately (which is what prompted their ire) to see what her obligations were.

I really want to be wrong here.

About wolfspringsstudios

I’m a retired graphic designer living just SE of Dallas. I enjoy reading, anything outdoors, nature, photography, dogs and motorcycles. Dislikes are wal mart, nimbys, football and nascar.
This entry was posted in animal rescue and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Rescue groups? Really?

  1. Jo says:

    IMHO success at ending the killing of adoptable animals will require work from both ends of the stick – rescue as well as the implementation of low cost, high volume, targeted spay neuter programs. I do understand where you are coming from, however, since in my geographic area effort to get effective spay/neuter programs into place is definitely getting the short end of the stick. Rescuers see firsthand how much it means to an animal to escape the shelter and being killed and they become obsessed with getting out as many as they can. It’s rewarding to do so, and they also often receive a good bit of glory from those who follow their activities. They are not going to pull back from rescue and become politicians because it is just not who they are. Some of us other types are going to have to organize to write letters, attend political meetings, and meet with those who hold the power. You are right that rescue is not going to do it, but I don’t think we should fault them for what they are doing. Most people don’t have the guts to go in the animal shelter at all and see the horror – these folks have the courage to carry the pain of the animals they see day in and day out.

Leave a Reply

